Lomo

I was excited when I opened up a Christmas gift this year and discovered it was the lomography colorsplash camera. In the past few years I’ve enjoyed using “toy” or “lomo” cameras. These aren’t digital cameras. I know, crazy, right? They use actual FILM! The whole idea is to experiment and have fun.

(my little collection)

In the little booklets I’ve gotten with my cameras and on their site they post the “10 Golden Rules of Lomography”:

  1. Take your camera everywhere you go
  2. Use it any time – day and night
  3. Lomography is not an interference in your life, but part of it
  4. Try the shot from the hip
  5. Approach the objects of your Lomographic desire as close as possible
  6. Don’t think (William Firebrace)
  7. Be fast
  8. You don’t have to know beforehand what you captured on film
  9. Afterwards either
  10. Don’t worry about any rules

How could it NOT be fun?! This year I’m hoping to experiment more and take more interesting shots with these cameras. I’ve discovered the best and cheapest place for me to get my film developed is Costco (less than $4 for one roll to be developed).

These are the cameras I currently have in my possession:

The Fisheye: The Lomography Fisheye sees a sweeping 170-degree view–compacting everything around you into a circular image.

 

The Action Sampler: Shoots 4 sequential images on one print with a 4-step flash that fires in synch with the lenses.

 

The Colorsplash: Choose from different tinted flash filters to alter color of your photo. Also can take long exposure shots. I am shooting my first roll of film of this, but here’s an example (found on Flickr, by ben hanbury):

 

The Holga: Uses 120 film. The Holga is known for producing whimsical images that have vingetting, soft focus and the enchanting possibility of light leaks. Here is another Flickr example (from eyeuno):

 

The Lomo LC-A: Radiant colors, tempermental focusing, multiple exposure switch, expanded film ISO setting to 1600. Example from Flickr (andre_castedo):

 

I’m hoping to have some fun with these cameras and get some good shots. I’ll be sharing them here in the future, so now you’ll know what they are!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

