Bicycle

It’s a beautiful day today, but it is supposed to get up to 90! Yesterday was super nice, so Trev and I rode our bikes ten miles. We included a stop at Jamba Juice for $1 smoothies, a promotion they had going on yesterday. I was pretty amazed that I biked to the Super Target by Knollwood and Whole Foods in Uptown and it didn’t seem that far away.

Trevor has really gotten into taking long bike rides this summer, and he has been encouraging me to join him. I used to ride my bike a lot when I was a teenager and always loved it. A few years ago Trev and I bought new bikes and for one summer biked on a regular basis, but at that point we didn’t know about all the fabulous trails around Minneapolis. It’s pretty amazing. When we were biking yesterday it felt like I was out in the country, not in the middle of the city. The trails are surrounded by trees and wildflowers with lots of parks and gardens along the way. Much of the time the paths are along railroad tracks too. Trevor pointed out recently that Minneapolis was named best bike city by Bicycling magazine. You can read more about it here and here. “There are 127 miles of bikeways in Minneapolis, with 83 of those being off-street trails. There is more bike parking per capita in Minneapolis than any other city in the country.”

So it’s my goal to get out on my bike on more of a regular basis. I just gotta do it!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Bicycle

  1. Kathy

    Good for you! Sounds like a wonderful goal!

  2. Jen

    That sounds like so much fun!! We have a TON of bike enthusiasts here in AZ – but it’s not for fun – it’s mainly competition biking. I can’t believe how hot it’s supposed to be! Wear sunscreen 🙂

  3. Jen

    p.s. thats a crazy picture. I would have fallen off trying to get that. hahaha

Leave a Reply

