TV Shows: What I Watch

I’m sure you are all dying to know what shows I watch and DVR. Ha! Just in case you are curious, here are my thoughts on what’s on TV these days.

To start out, yes, it’s a lot of TV. You don’t have to tell me that. This is only possible because a)we have had DVR for years- first through cable and now Tivo, and b)I like to watch TV while doing other stuff: clipping coupons, cleaning the house, folding laundry, making crafts and cards, reading magazines, grooming the dog, organizing anything I can get my hands on (I like to organize, ok?). I also don’t always watch every episode. Sometimes I actually delete stuff I DVR because I haven’t been in the mood to watch it. Also, not all these shows are all on at the same time. Some are mid-season, late-season, and some are on a break or are brand new.

I admit, after canceling cable, and after watching every single season of Project Runway from the very first episode, it was hard to miss the premiere of the new season last night. It is one of the only reality TV shows I have cared to watch. The last season was mostly boring and not all that exciting, but in the past I have been excited to watch each week. I will have to just skip this season all together or watch it later on. I don’t believe I can watch the episodes online. Correct me if I am mistaken.

Might as well stay on the topic of reality TV. It’s not my thing. I know a lot of people are really into it and love The Bachelor, The Biggest Loser, etc. but I don’t care for it. I watched the first several seasons of the original reality TV, The Real World on MTV, and stopped when it got ridiculously uninteresting and out of hand. After that I’ve stuck with only reality TV that has to do with design- Project Runway, HGTV’s Design Star, and Top Design. All of those were/are on cable TV, so no more of that for me. Although we skipped out on almost every season of Survivor, the hubby and I started watching a couple years ago, whatever the first season in HD was. So Survivor will remain the only reality TV we watch.

As far as dramas go, our favorite show to watch together is Lost. We refused to watch when everyone was originally talking about it, but halfway through season 3 we rented the first two seasons and got hooked! We’re really excited to watch the new and final season, although this season it is on Tuesday nights, which is when Trevor has pool leagues. It’s the only show we watch live, but I guess not anymore! We also watch Friday Night Lights together. We’ve been watching Flash Forward, but aren’t liking it as much, and find the plot and writing sort of ridiculous at times. We’ll watch when it comes back on after the Olympics and decide if it’s worth to keep watching. I also watched the first episodes of V, and am undecided on if I really like it or not. I mainly like Elizabeth Mitchell (who is also on Lost).  I also watch Fringe (Trev gave  up towards the end of the first season). The Good Wife is my new favorite, and I really liked The Mentalist last season but have been deleting some episodes this season without watching.

Continuing on with dramas, the ones I have been watching the longest are CSI: Crime Scene Investigation, and Law & Order: SVU. I occasionally watch CSI: New York, and I loathe CSI: Miami, but the original CSI is my favorite. I haven’t given up on it even with all the cast changes, though I do miss Grissom. I really liked watching SVU in the past, but the past couple seasons haven’t been as good and I even found some episodes just bad/stupid. I much prefer The Good Wife now. I have been watching Medium since the beginning, and although it can be a bit out there, I love how real the family seems, the marriage, the small house, and I love Patricia Arquette as Allison Dubois. I will also throw in that I have been watching NCIS on and off since I stumbled upon it the second season. It’s sort of crazy how it’s taken over the TV ratings. It’s not one that I have to see every episode of though, and I still am not much of a Ziva fan. I have always really liked Abby, DiNozzo, and McGee.

Moving on to comedies, I’ll start with a comedy/drama, Ugly Betty. This show is crazy and all over the place and just totally soap opera-y and out there, but hilarious. What has kept me watching it is Betty. Trev and I watch all the rest of the comedies together. Our fave is NBC”s Thursday comedy line-up:  Community, Parks & Rec, The Office, & 30 Rock. The Office is our favorite! We also love Better Off Ted, which is whacky and hilarious but will most likely get canceled. We watch Glee, and our new fave this season is Modern Family. We also watch the show Chuck and love that it is currently back for it’s third season!

Finally, we come to one last show, and it is my guilty pleasure show- The Vampire Diaries. Everyone’s gotta have a teen drama in the mix though, right? I thought it would be totally ridiculous when I started watching it, but I got hooked. What can I say?

If I had to cut my list down, I could do that and be fine, but these days there’s just too much good TV. This of course doesn’t include all the shows we have watched via Netflix. 🙂 I could do a whole entry on shows that I love that were canceled, but that’s how it goes.

Here’s the final list:

Survivor

Lost

Friday Night Lights

Flash Forward

V

Fringe

Medium

CSI

NCIS

Law & Order: SVU

The Good Wife

The Mentalist

Ugly Betty

The Office

30 Rock

Community

Parks & Rec

Modern Family

Better Off Ted

Chuck

Glee

The Vampire Diaries

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

