Around the house

This past weekend  was really nice and low key. But we also got a couple of things done around the house. I had been wanting new DVD shelves for over a year, and we finally got what I had wanted! We actually had too many to fit in what we had, and I was hoping for something with doors. Now we have 2 new DVD cabinets, with room to add more…

Here is the before:

And here is the after:

Also, after having the same shower curtain in our one bathroom for the past few years, I bought a new one, and new rug. I got them at Target. There was a different one that I had been hoping for, but was too late. This works just as well though. It’s hard to tell in the photo, but it is a nice fabric light gray curtain with a design on it. The old one had rips and threads, and even little puppy teeth holes from Cash chewing on it when he was little.

I also stopped by Big Lots on Saturday and found some great $1 and $2 deals on scrapbooking stuff. And for $2 each I got a couple of Martha Stewart paper flower kits! I know these go for anywhere from $10-$20 typically, so I was excited to try and make some for just $2 each! I picked up the Crepe Paper Black-Eyed Susan Kit, and the Tissue Paper Flower Bouquet Kit.

It took me many hours to make the flowers, but I like to keep busy anyway. I made most of the black-eyed susans while we watched State of Play, which I thought was pretty good but didn’t love it, and then some DVR’d TV. The kit made 18 flowers. The most annoying part was cutting out all the pieces first out of the stacks of crepe paper provided. I think they turned out pretty great though!

They almost look real here, huh?

The tissue paper bouquet took just about as long, and made 24 flowers, and 4 different kinds of them. One of the kinds I could not figure out how to make very well, so they didn’t turn out so great, but blended in with the others and don’t look too bad. The other kinds were very easy to figure out. After making so many my fingers are tired!

I am so glad I finished making all of those, and I’m really happy with how they turned out.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Around the house

  1. Kathy

    Karin, I love everything you show here! The DVD cabinet is perfect. But I want all of the flowers you made. They are so pretty! Cash Howard had better not rip any of them apart.

  2. Becca

    Wow, the flowers look so real!! I might have to check out Big Lots to see if they have any kits left!

  3. Jen

    The DVD cabinets look perfect there! love it.
    When I was just scrolling through your blog I saw the photos of the flowers and I was going to ask you if they were from your garden! How funny! They look amazing 🙂

  4. Kathy

    Eric wants to know where you got the DVD cabinets. What are you doing with the old ones?

  5. I’m in awe of the flowers. So much patience! So beautiful!
    I also love how the cabinets look. I’m excited to get to do classy things like that someday when I finally get a job!

Leave a Reply

